People

Click an image for details

Principal Investigator

Hong-Wei Dong

Hong-Wei Dong

Professor Of Neurology, Institute for Neuro Imaging, Zilkha Neurogenetic Institute

Keck School of Medicine of USC

hongwei.dong@loni.usc.edu

www.mouseconnectome.org/

Zilkha Neurogenetic Institute 307

Keck School of Medicine of USC

University of Southern California

1501 San Pablo Street

Los Angeles, CA 90033

Phone: (323) 442-1100

Research Topic

  • Brain atlasing
  • Neuroanatomy and Connectomics
  • High throughput image analysis and visualization tools

Research Overview

The Dong Lab undertakes several projects related to characterizing the neural architecture of mouse models of health and disease and creating open-access data resources and informatics pipelines for mouse brain atlasing. Our Mouse Connectome Project (MCP) (www.MouseConnectome.org) aims to create a three-dimensional, Google Earth-like, digital Connectome atlas of the C57BL/6J mouse brain. We have well-established state of the art tract-tracing technologies to systematically reveal and map neuronal networks of the whole mouse brain, and have developed a high-throughput pipeline for data production, collection, and analysis. These large-scale, high-resolution, high-quality raw imaging data are made freely accessible to the neuroscience community and general public. To facilitate their use, we have also developed a powerful visualization tool that enables users to visualize and annotate these data. Recently, we constructed a mouse cortico-striatal projectome: a comprehensive projection map from the entire cortex to the dorsal striatum in the mouse. We use this connectomics approach to characterize circuit-specific cortico-striatal connectopathies in mouse models of disconnection syndromes such as autism spectrum disorder and Huntington disease. Mouse Connectome Lab Page 1999 - Ph.D., the Fourth Military Medical University (Xian, China) (Research project for PhD thesis was conducted at University of Southern California) 1996 - M.S., the Fourth Military Medical University (Xian, China), (Neuroscience) 1993 - M.D., the Fourth Military Medical University (Xian, China), (Medicine)

Websites

  • Mouse Connectome
  • Lab Page

Education

  • 1999 - Ph.D., the Fourth Military Medical University (Xi’an, China) and University of Southern California, (Neuroscience)
  • 1996 - M.S., the Fourth Military Medical University (Xi’an, China), (Neuroscience)
  • 1993 - M.D., the Fourth Military Medical University (Xi’an, China), (Medicine)

Publications

  • Hintiryan, H., Foster, N. N., Bowman, I., Bay, M., Song, M. Y., Gou, L., ... & Yang, X. W. (2016). The mouse cortico-striatal projectome. Nature Neuroscience.
  • Condro, M. C., Matynia, A., Foster, N. N., Ago, Y., Rajbhandari, A. K., Van, C., ... & May, V. (2016). High resolution characterization of a PACAP EGFP transgenic mouse model for mapping PACAP expressing neurons. Journal of Comparative Neurology, 524(18), 3827-3848.
  • Zingg, B., Hintiryan, H., Gou, L., Song, M. Y., Bay, M., Bienkowski, M. S., ... & Dong, H. W. (2014). Neural networks of the mouse neocortex. Cell, 156(5), 1096-1111.

Advisory Council

Arthur Toga

Arthur Toga

Director, Mary and Mark Stevens Neuroima

toga@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • Ph.D., Neuroscience

Experience

  • 2016 - present: Ghada Irani Chair in Neuroscience
  • 2013 - present: Provost Professor, Departments of Ophthalmology, Neurology, Psychiatry, and the Behavioral Sciences, Radiology and Engineering at the Keck School of Medicine of USC
  • 2013 - present: Director, USC Mark and Mary Stevens Neuroimaging and Informatics Institute
  • 2013 - present: Director, USC Laboratory of Neuro Imaging
  • 2010 - 2012: Associate Vice Provost of Informatics, University of California, Los Angeles
  • 2010 - 2013: Associate Dean, David Geffen School of Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles
  • 1993 - 2010: Professor, Department of Neurology, University of California, Los Angeles
  • 1993 - 2013: Associate Director, Division of Brain Mapping, Neuropsychiatric Institute, University of California, Los Angeles
  • 1987 - 2013: Director, Laboratory of Neuro Imaging, Department of Neurology, University of California, Los Angeles

Research

  • neuroimaging
  • mapping brain structure and function
  • brain atalsing
  • cerebral metabolism
  • neurovascular coupling

Skills

  • Neuroscience
  • Research
  • Management

Larry Swanson

Larry Swanson

Harvey Karten

Harvey Karten

Data Production, Collection, and Annotation Team

Houri Hintiryan

Houri Hintiryan

Assistant Professor of Research

Houri.Hintiryan@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • BA, Psychology & English - University of Southern California, 2009
  • MA, Psychology: Behavioral Neuroscience - University of Southern California, 2003
  • Ph.D., Psychology: Behavioral Neuroscience - University of Southern California, 2000

Research

  • Examining the neural networks of the brain using classic and viral tract tracers.
  • Identifying aberrant connections in mouse models of neurological disorders like Alzheimer's Disease.

Lin Gou

Lin Gou

Research Lab Technician - Supervisor

lin.gou@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • M.D., Aerospace Medicine - Fourth Military Medical University, China, 2001

Research

  • Cell Biology, Molecular Biology, Electrophysiology

Marlene Becerra

Marlene Becerra

Research Lab Technician

Marlene.Becerra@loni.usc.edu

Anthony Santarelli

Anthony Santarelli

Postdoctoral Scholar - Research Associate

Anthony.Santarelli@loni.usc.edu

Chunru Cao

Chunru Cao

Research Lab Technician I

Chunru.Cao@loni.usc.edu

Hanpeng Xu

Hanpeng Xu

Research Associate

Hanpeng.Xu@loni.usc.edu

Bin Zhang

Bin Zhang

Research Associate

Bin.Zhang@loni.usc.edu

Nicholas Foster

Nicholas Foster

Senior Research Associate

Nick.Foster@loni.usc.edu

Michael Bienkowski

Michael Bienkowski

Assistant Professor of Research

Michael.Bienkowski@loni.usc.edu

Sarvia Aquino

Sarvia Aquino

Research Lab Technician

Sarvia.Aquino@loni.usc.edu

Brian Zingg

Brian Zingg

Postdoctoral Scholar - Research Associate

Brian.Zingg@loni.usc.edu

Daniel Calderon

Daniel Calderon

Research Lab Technician I

Daniel.Calderon@loni.usc.edu

Image Processing Team

Marina Fayzullina

Marina Fayzullina

Research Lab Technician

Marina.Fayzullina@loni.usc.edu

Laura Korobkova

Laura Korobkova

Research Lab Technician

Laura.Korobkova@loni.usc.edu

Christine Mun

Christine Mun

Research Lab Technician

Christine.Mun@loni.usc.edu

Darrick Lo

Darrick Lo

Research Lab Technician

Darrick.Lo@loni.usc.edu

Neda Khanjani

Neda Khanjani

Research Lab Technician

sjafroodi@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • MS, Neuroimaging and Informatics

Experience

  • Brain imaging and processing and visualization

Gordon Dan

Gordon Dan

Research Lab Technician

Gordon.Dan@loni.usc.edu

Tyler Boesen

Tyler Boesen

Research Lab Technician

Tyler.Boesen@loni.usc.edu

Sarah Ustrell

Sarah Ustrell

Research Lab Technician

Sarah.Ustrell@loni.usc.edu

Informatics Team

Luis Garcia

Luis Garcia

Programmer Analyst

Luis.Garcia@loni.usc.edu

Seita Yamashita

Seita Yamashita

Programmer Analyst

seita.yamashita@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • B.S. in Computer Science, Kansai University Department of Computer Science, Osaka, Japan, 1997 - 2002
  • International Exchange Program, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, Hawaii 2000 - 2001

Experience

  • 2013 - Present, Programmer Analyst, Institute for Neuroimaging and Informatics, Keck School of Medicine of USC
  • 2006 - 2013, Programmer Analyst, Laboratory of Neuro Imaging, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
  • 2003 - 2006, System Engineer, Future Spirits Co., Ltd., Japan
  • 2002-2003, IT Engineer, IBM Japan

Skills

  • Java, Swing, JSTL, JSP, HTML, XML, JSON, Spring, Hibernate, Tiles, Log4J, Jersey, jQuery, Mootools, Maven, CVS, SVN, Git, Tomcat, Apache, MySQL, Google Maps API, bash, Eclipse, Linux, OS X, Windows

Muye Zhu

Muye Zhu

Postdoctoral Scholar - Research Associat

Muye.Zhu@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • B.S. in Biological Sciences

Research

  • Anatomical and functional connectivity of rodent olfactory system.

Amanda Tugangui

Amanda Tugangui

Programmer Analyst I

Amanda.Tugangui@loni.usc.edu

Ian Bowman

Ian Bowman

Research Programmer II

Ian.Bowman@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • MS, Computer Science - UC Davis, 2004
  • BS, Computer Science - UC Davis, 2002

Research

  • Scientific visualization, scientific programming, novel interfaces and neuroinformatics.

Kaelan Cotter

Kaelan Cotter

Programmer Analyst II

Kaelan.Cotter@loni.usc.edu

Project Manager

Samantha Serrano

Samantha Serrano

Project Manager

Samantha.Serrano@loni.usc.edu

Junior Programmers

Kaladhar Reddy Mummadi

Kaladhar Reddy Mummadi

Junior Programmer

mummadi@usc.edu

Web Design and Development

Juheeshwari Laxmi Rajamohan

Juheeshwari Laxmi Rajamohan

Web Developer I

Juheeshwari.Rajamohan@loni.usc.edu

Caroline O'Driscoll

Caroline O'Driscoll

Senior Scientific Graphic Designer

caroline.odriscoll@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • M.S. in Biomedical Visualization, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • B.A. University of California San Diego

Experience

  • 3 years Biomedical Visualization for Aerospace Research and Education
  • 5 years Scientific Graphic Design

Graduate Students

Monica Song

Monica Song

Graduate Student Researcher

Monica.Song@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • BS, Neuroscience - UCLA

Nora Benavidez

Nora Benavidez

Graduate Student Researcher

Nora.Benavidez@loni.usc.edu

Alumni

Xinhai Bob Zhang

Xinhai Bob Zhang

Research Associate

Xinhai.Zhang@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • MD, PhD, The Fourth Military Medical University, China

Experience

  • Research Associate, Greenville Hospital System, South Carolina
  • Visiting Scholar, Newcastle University, Australia
  • Visiting Scholar, Oxford University, UK
  • Lecturer, Fourth Military Medical University, China

Research

  • Molecular mechanism involved in stress-induced neurological pathology in mouse brain.

David Johnson

David Johnson

Research Lab Technician

David.Johnson@loni.usc.edu

Education

  • BA, Neuroscience- Vanderbilt University, 2014

Suyi Wang

Suyi Wang

Research Programmer

Suyi.Wang@loni.usc.edu